Book Club of 1: Ideas On What To Read Next – Special Non-Meeting

More publishers are getting into the readers advisory game.  I encourage you to make your own decision about which books to read, especially those promoted by the majors publishers.  These are simply what they are trying to promote and not always the best books for you.  Keep in mind, many of these will end up on best seller lists.  Being a best seller is only a reflection of how many are sold, not the quality.  Sales are directly influenced by the excessive money spent on marketing.  Marketing does include Book Expo and ALA conferences.

With all that in mind, this post is a special one because Penguin/Random House has sent out their list of book club suggestions for the end of summer/into fall.  You can review it online for free.  They do a good job of suggesting books based on what you may have already read.  They have a solid variety of titles and discussion questions for book clubs.

I already have a few of these on my To-Be-Read (TBR) shelf and will be reading in the fall.

  1. The Tsar of Love and Techno: Stories is one I got at ALA and loved the way the author talked about it.  The idea of stories with a loose connection, but set in the same universe appeals to me.  When I write I tend to create universes and want to keep every story in said universe.
  2. In the Unlikely Event is the new Judy Bloom book.  So, yeah, everyone should read it.  It’s Judy Bloom.
  3. The Truth According to Us is probably what I will read first in September.  I really loved The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and am looking forward to her new one.
  4. Armada because I will listen to any audiobook read by Wil Wheaton… on principal.  This one will hopefully be off my holds list in August.
  5. Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania because I have enjoyed everything else I have read by Erik Larson.
  6. Emma: A Modern Retelling by Alexander McCall Smith – because I will read almost any moderization/sequel/retelling of any Austen novel.  It’s my weakness.  Apparently this is his 3rd and I feel like I have failed as an Austen fan.  Then I realized I am not totally failing.  It’s called the Austen Project and different authors write different moderizations.  I read the Sense & Sensability volume and was not thrilled.  To be fair, S&S is my least favorite Austen novel.  Anyway, I do love Emma so I will now read this one.

The others are not known to me yet (tell me if you are familiar with them) or I know I am not interested in.  Feel free to share your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *